Over the past twelve years, KATV Sports Anchor, Steve Sullivan, along with Landers' President, Steve Landers, has presented the following players with the prestigious Landers Award:

  • 2000  De'Arrius Howard of West Memphis
  • 2001  Reed McKinney of Warren
  • 2002  Landon Leach of Russellville
  • 2003  Peyton Hillis of Conway
  • 2004  Darren McFadden of Oak Grove
  • 2005  Damien Williams of Springdale
  • 2006  A.J. Whitmore of Nashville
  • 2007  Tyler Wilson of Greenwood
  • 2008  Spencer Keith of Pulaski Academy
  • 2009  Michael Dyer of Little Rock Christian
  • 2010  Brandon Allen of Fayetteville
  • 2011  Fredi Knighten of Pulaski Academy

What is the Landers Award?

The Landers Award recognizes superior athletic achievement on the Arkansas high school football field and embodies the spirit of courage and dedication all student athletes must master to become the best-of-the-best.

How are The Landers Award Nominees chosen?

Each week, for thirteen weeks during the high school football season, a Landers Player of the Week will be chosen by the KATV Sports staff and announced during the Thursday sportscast.

When will the winner be announced?

Family members, coaches and players will be invited to enjoy dinner and watch the live broadcast of The Landers Award Show in the KATV studios on January 16, 2013 at 6:30pm. At that time, The Landers Award winner will be announced and awarded a signature ring and a $3,000 scholarship towards his school.
On Sunday, January 20 at 4:30pm KATV will rebroadcast the event.